Databases A-Z and by SubjectMagazines in the LibraryInterlibrary Loan for ArticlesCiting and Writing Resources
Reference ResourcesDatabases A-Z and by SubjectSubject Guides + Course GuidesLibrary InstructionFind ImagesCiting and Writing ResourcesEvaluating ResourcesWriting a Thesis StatementWriting a Contextual Analysis
Library InstructionCourse ReservesInterlibrary Loan for BooksInterlibrary Loan for ArticlesOff-site AccessEquipment You Can BorrowRequest for Library PurchaseService Learning Resources
Search for BooksFind the Book on the ShelfCirculation PoliciesInterlibrary Loan for BooksFind Reserve MaterialsYour Library AccountCiting and Writing Resources
HoursContact UsLibrary MissionPoliciesBLAB: Best Little Art BlogEYE: Student Gallery at Teti LibraryTechnology in the LibraryEquipment You Can BorrowOff-site AccessLibrary Reports
This is the "SPECIAL COLLECTIONS" page of the "TETI LIBRARY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TETI LIBRARY  

Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://nhia.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The John Teti Rare Photography Book Collection


http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/47/Camera_Work_cover.jpgCamera Work (cover), No. 2, 1903, Image courtesy of Wiki Commons
                                               
                                           
The New Hampshire Institute of Art offers one of the finest collections of photographic resources in the United States.  The John Teti Rare Photography Book Collection was established in October 2007 through a generous donation by John Teti of over 2,000 rare books, periodicals, prints and documents.  The materials retained in Special Collections are all seminal or definitive works illustrating the history of photography, and include Edward Steichen's personal copies of Alfred Stieglitz' Camera Work.  These materials provide our students, faculty and outside scholars with access to important photographic works for study, examination, and appreciation.

 

John Teti Rare Photography Book Collection - Examples of some modern titles in the Collection

Cover Art
Le Notre's Gardens - Eric T. Haskell; Michael Kenna (Photographer)

Cover Art
Industrial Landscapes - Bernd Becher; Hilla Becher

 

Faculty Publications

Special Collections also houses many faculty publications. Here are just a few:

Cover Art
Ghana - Barbara Bickford; Tim Gaudreau; Nancy Grace Horton; Gary Samson; Charter Weeks

Cover Art
Tales of the Talented Tenth - Bass Reeves - Joel Christian Gill
Call Number: IA PN6727.G55 B37 2014 SPEC

Cover Art
Aftermath - Yoav Horesh
Publication Date: 2016

Cover Art
Instant Connections - Jason Landry; Debbie Hagan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013

 

Introduction to Special Collections

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/24/Mrs_Brown_Potter_Camera_Work_N%C2%B024_octobre_1908_planche_V.jpg Baron A. deMeyer, Mrs. Brown Potter, 1908, Photogravure, Camera Work, Image courtesy of Wiki Commons

Special Collections is located in Fuller Hall and is the repository for rare and unique materials for the New Hampshire Institute of Art. 

Holdings include very rare books and periodicals on fine art photography in the John Teti Rare Photography Book Collection.

  Prints from a variety of photographic processes are included in the
Thomas L. Adams, Jr. Photographic Collection.

Our Archives Collection features photos and materials from the early days of the Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences
as well as faculty and student publications.

See the individual boxes on this page for more information
on each collection.

 

NHIA Digital Collections

Teti Library provides access to several of its collections online on Shared Shelf Commons. Click on the links to view our digital collections.

Thom Adams Photographic Collection

This collection of fine art photography from major photographers of the 20th and 21st centuries includes portraiture, figurative studies, "street" and documentary photography, as well as other subjects. Represented in the collection are major, well-known photographers as well as emerging artists. Works from Shelby Lee Adams, Lucien Clerque, Annie Leibovitz, Jock Sturges, and other noted photographers are included in the collection.

Underground Gallery Photography Collection

This collection contains photographic prints donated by Norbert Kleber, photographer and founder of The Underground Gallery in New York City. Included are works by George Tice, Gerry Uelsmann, Ann Parker, Arthur Tress, Fred Picker and Neal Slavin.

 

 

New Hampshire Institute of Art Archives Collection

The Archives Collection houses a variety of publications, exhibition and instructional materials, photographs, and media clippings, dating back to the early days of the Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences (NHIA's former name).



Early Class. Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences,
date unknown.

The NHIA Archives documents the life of the college with materials created by students and faculty, administrative and departmental staff during the course of their time here. The records in the Archives Collection provide researchers with primary sources for research and study.

 

Thomas L. Adams, Jr. Photographic Collection


Thomas L. Adams, Jr. working with the collection, 2012
Adams Center for Photographic Research & Study

NHIA's Photographic Print Collection was established through the generous donation of works from
Thomas L. Adams, Jr.  This collection of fine art photography from major photographers of the 20th and 21st centuries includes portraiture, figurative studies, "street" and documentary photography, as well as other subjects.  Represented in the collection are major, well-known photographers as well as emerging artists. Works from Shelby Lee Adams, Lucien Clerque, Annie Leibovitz, Jock Sturges, and other noted photographers are included in the collection. 

Since the Adams Collection was established in 2011, several significant donations have been made, including those from collector Jim Fitts of Boston, Massachusetts, artist/photographer Douglas Prince of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, collector Bob Rogers of Concord, New Hampshire, photographer and collector Norbert Kleber of Manchester, NH, and artist Dimitris Yeros of Greece.

The Adams Center for Photographic Research & Study houses this collection and is located in Fuller Hall. 

Contact the Teti Library staff to view the collection or arrange a class visit: ref@nhia.edu or 836-2532.

 

Access to the Collections

If you would like to visit Special Collections in person, you must first make an appointment with a Reference staff member.   Send us a chat or email a day or so in advance so that we can schedule your visit.  Let us know what you would like to see so we can gather the materials prior to your visit.

Betsy Holmes, Library Director

Martha Sawyer, Reference Assistant

 

First Year Experience - Accordion Books

With help from the Teti Library, First Year Experience classes over the years have created  multi-page accordion books for our Special Collections.  Each student from the classes designed a page for the books.  Designs included photographs, illustrations, paintings, collages, drawings and combined media.   The pages were then assembled into accordion books by Teti Library staff and displayed in Fuller Hall.  The books are now part of our artists' book collection in our John Teti Rare Photography Book Collection. 

Please contact the library if you would like to make an appointment to see this amazing collection! ref@nhia.edu

    
Image details from the First Year Experience, Fall 2013 accordion books.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip