Teti Library Committee
The Library Committee (as comfirmed by the Committee, 2-17-15)
The Library Committee serves to advise the Teti Library Director with strategic planning and other significant issues; support the Teti Library Director and staff as it provides resources and services to the NHIA community; and assists with outreach initiatives to encourage integration of library services into the NHIA curriculum and communicate library related news to their department faculty and students.
The Committee is comprised of full-time faculty members from various academic departments and a representative of the Graduate Faculty, whenever possible. Terms of service are staggered to ensure continuity and departmental representation over time.
Term of service: 2 years. Ideally, committee membership should be distributed between first and second year members.
The NHIA Library Director serves as Committee Chair and is responsible for project communication, defining outcomes, scheduling meetings, assigning tasks, and reporting to the Faculty Senate. The Chair ensures timely completion of projects agreed upon by the committee.
The Secretary is responsible for taking notes, writing minutes, and photocopying and distributing minutes at the start of each meeting. In addition, the Committee Secretary is responsible for forwarding minutes in a timely manner to the Secretary of the Executive Committee for posting on the Institute’s website.
The Library Director will call a meeting at the beginning of each semester, at which the frequency of meetings for the remainder of the semester will be determined. It is expected that there will be a minimum of three (3) meetings per term.
ARCHIVING AND AMENDING GUIDELINES
The Library Director and Secretary maintain an online public record of meeting agenda, minutes and documents on the Teti Library website. The Committee Secretary is responsible for forwarding minutes to the Secretary of the Executive Committee for posting on the Institute’s website.
Guidelines are reviewed annually by the Library Committee and revised as needed. If revisions are necessary, recommendations from the Committee are reported to the Faculty Senate.
A digital copy of Committee guidelines is posted to the Teti Library and Institute’s website.
The Library Director submits an annual report of the Committee’s activities to the Office of Academic Affairs at the end of the academic year or no later than May 30.
Teti Library Advisory Committee for Archives and Special Collections
Purpose of committee: The Advisory Committee for the Teti Library Archives and Special Collections was formed to assist in its mission of identifying, preserving, and making available records and papers of enduring value, for both the Teti Special Collections, and the Thomas L. Adams, Jr. Photographic Print Collection. Ad hoc sub-committees may be established as needed.
Areas of responsibility: The Advisory Committee will offer advice in the following areas:
- Collection Development
- Public Relations
- Grant opportunities
- Excluded from the committee’s deliberations are matters of personnel and budget.
Composition of committee: The Advisory Committee is will be composed of “stakeholders” in Special Collections—those with a vested interested. This can be FT and/or PT faculty, scholars, artists, and donors to the Collections.
Frequency of meetings: The Advisory Committee meets twice a year. Spring and Fall semesters. Ad hoc subcommittees will meet as needed.
Reporting relationship: The Advisory Committee will submit an annual report to the Executive Vice President of NHIA.