This is the "Step-by-Step Research" page of the "Fake or Real? Know it before you blow it!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fake or Real? Know it before you blow it!  

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017 URL: http://nhia.libguides.com/content.php?pid=711122 Print Guide RSS Updates

Step-by-Step Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step by Step Guide to Research at Teti Library

Be aware that if you are not careful, you could present false information when writing a research paper...  but sometimes it is hard to know if the information you gather is real or fake. 

Websites can be a great place to start your research assignments -- but always confirm that they are reliable and appropriate sources. This guide will assist you in finding resources 'beyond Google" you can count on to be acceptable for college-level projects.


Steps to get you to a great research project:

1.  Select a topic you are interested in -- be flexible!  If you run into dead-ends, try changing it up a bit.

2.  Locate background information -- this should be broad rather than too specific/narrow.  Create a context for your subject. 

3.  Find books on your topic -- images in books are reliable sources. 

4.  Search for journal articles - online databases are reviewed for accuracy, and can create your citations for you!

5.  Locate images on reliable sites-- there is a huge amount of junk on the open internet -- be careful!

6.  Make sure you always provide proper citations for work.  Intellectual property must be respected, and as artists we expect this from others when citing our work, too.

 

Search for Books, DVDs + More

Use this box to search Teti Library (and 11 other libraries)  for books, DVDs, periodicals and more, enter your search terms in the box below. 

Look for books, DVDs & more!

Researching the Basics

Use this resource to provide background information on your artist- don't forget to get the proper citation!

  • Oxford Art Online
    This database provides the full contents of a significant encyclopedia of art: Grove Dictionary of Art, plus several other art reference works. You can also search and view thumbnail art images.
  • Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
    Searchable essays, chronologies, and works of art that tell the story of global art and culture through the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
 

Journal Databases

Below are selected databases with emphasis on visual arts-related topics.  More databases can be searched from the main Library website:

Academic Search Premiere: Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Premier contains full text for more than 2,500 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

Art & Architecture Source:  A leading database for the study of fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more, this database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, ARTSource offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books.

Teti Library Databases A-Z

Image Resources

Below are a selection of subscription and open-access digital image databases you may wish to search:

  • ARTstor
    ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images
  • Museum of Modern Art
    The Museum of Modern Art was founded in 1929 and today is one of the world’s largest museums devoted to modern and contemporary art.This link will take you to the artist's database.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art collection database
    The Collection Database is a searchable database of artworks and related materials from the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip